U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. Blogs
  3. AFMC Offers Professional Logistics Certification Programs
life cycle logistics

AFMC Offers Professional Logistics Certification Programs

For those who may have missed it, wanted to call your attention to an Air Force Materiel Command Logistics Workforce Development Branch announcement from late last year entitled "AFMC Offers…

AFMC Offers Professional Logistics Certification Programs

Bill Kobren

For those who may have missed it, wanted to call your attention to an Air Force Materiel Command Logistics Workforce Development Branch announcement from late last year entitled "AFMC Offers Professional Logistics Certification Programs".


Building on the successful DAWIA certification model life cycle logistics workforce personnel are familiar with, according to this announcement, “Air Force Materiel Command has developed the Logistics Professional Development Program for civilian and military employees, working in a logistics career field, who are looking to formulate a career plan, determine job-related continuous learning objectives and enhance their professional credentials.”  The article in part continues:


“LPDP currently consists of three certification programs targeting specific workforce categories within logistics:

· Professional Maintenance Certification Program (PMxCP)
· Professional Deployment/Distribution and Transportation Certification Program (PDDTCP)
· Professional Supply Management Certification Program (PSMCP)

The Defense Department's Logistics Human Capital Strategy established a vision for the logistics workforce to evolve into an "integrated, agile, and high-performing future workforce of multi-faceted, interchangeable logisticians that succeed in a joint operating environment." In response, AFMC's Logistics, Civil Engineering and Force Protection directorate led a development effort beginning with PMxCP in 2010 based on active input and participation from an integrated process team consisting of maintenance professionals from each of the command's air logistics complexes, the Air Force Test Center, Air Force Personnel Center, and headquarters AFMC's Depot Maintenance Workforce Development Branch. Once PMxCP demonstrated results, the effort was expanded into the LPDP and now includes Deployment/Distribution and Transportation and Supply Management logistics workforce categories. More than 650 certifications have been awarded so far.

"Air Force senior leaders are charged with supporting and encouraging professional education and training for our logisticians and mentoring our people to ensure they are highly-qualified members of the Total Force team," said Lisa Smith, AFMC Deputy Director of Logistics, Civil Engineering and Force Protection. "LPDP builds upon these deliberate efforts and takes it to the next level."

Based on the original PMxCP framework, each certification program offers eligible applicants a common framework of functional training requirements, formal and developmental education, work and supervisory experience, and career broadening experience within other logistics disciplines. There are five levels of certification, beginning with a basic entry level (Level 1), working through journeyman and advanced journeyman (Levels 2 and 3), and culminating in the development of enterprise logisticians (Levels 4 and 5). As part of the continuing effort to develop enterprise logisticians, LPDP ensures the three certification programs remain more than a set of static requirements by sustaining a common framework comprised of series-specific, workforce category and enterprise training, formal and developmental education, and years of experience.

Each certification program shares the same "enterprise" training requirements at each of the five levels. This is part of the deliberative effort to develop logisticians with an enterprise, "big-picture" perspective and to help reinforce other efforts within formal and developmental education and supervisory experience. Each program augments this enterprise training with both workforce category training and series-specific training that is determined by the various IPTs. Workforce category training is specific training applicable to all personnel within maintenance, DDT, or supply and represents the required knowledge for anyone working within these specific workforce categories for specific levels of certification. Series-specific training applies to personnel within any specific occupational series (maintenance, supply or DDT) generally considered eligible for a certification program and represents coursework those personnel should complete when working within a specific series and workforce category at specific levels of certification.

Currently, information about the PMxCP can be found in AFMCI 36-402, Professional Maintenance Certificate Program. A new instruction (AFMCI 36-202, Logistics Professional Development Program) that will provide information on all of AFMC's logistics certification programs is in coordination and will be published when the review process is complete early in 2016. Information and application forms for each certification program, as well as a list of local POCs can be found at https://cs1.eis.af.mil/sites/afmc-lpdp/SitePages/Home.aspx.