U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. Blogs
  3. DoD Accepting Nominations For Annual Acquisition Awards
Life Cycle Logistics

DoD Accepting Nominations for Annual Acquisition Awards

DoD Accepting Nominations for Annual Acquisition Awards

Bill Kobren

In case you had not already seen it, wanted to call your attention to a May 3, 2017 memo from Mr MacStravic, Performing the Duties of the Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology,and Logistics entitled “Call for Nominations for the 2017 Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology, and Logistics Acquisition Awards”. In the memo, he solicits nominations for the following DoD acquisition award programs:

  • The David Packard Excellence in Acquisition Award, which recognizes Department of Defense (DoD) civilian and military teams who have, in their approach to program management, demonstrated innovation and technical excellence in the acquisition of products and services to achieve more cost effective acquisition outcomes for the Warfighter and the taxpayer.
  • The Should Cost and Innovation Award, which recognizes organizations that have displayed outstanding commitment and innovation pertaining to should cost management.
  • The Defense Acquisition Workforce Individual Achievement Award, which recognizes excellence by members of the Defense Acquisition Workforce in 17 functional categories.
  • The Defense Acquisition Workforce Development Award, which recognizes organizations that have demonstrated exceptional innovation in tackling workforce development challenges.

Eligibility/selection criteria, administrative procedures, and the application form for all four award programs are provided in attachments to the memo. Nominations must be submitted electronically by August 1, 2017. The memo goes on to provide submission information and points of contact, an concludes by reminding us of the importance of recognizing “teams and individuals most deserving of recognition for their acquisition excellence.”

In addition to the already announced 2017 Secretary of Defense Product Support Manager (PSM) Award and 13th Annual Secretary of Defense Performance-Based Logistics (PBL) Award, these acquisition workforce awards afford us a golden opportunity to recognize the outstanding work being done in the area of life cycle logistics and product support, among many other areas across the spectrum of the defense acquisition workforce.