U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. Blogs
  3. First Annual Secretary of Defense Product Support Manager (PSM) Award
Life Cycle Logistics

First Annual Secretary of Defense Product Support Manager (PSM) Award

First Annual Secretary of Defense Product Support Manager (PSM) Award

Bill Kobren

The Undersecretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology and Logistics announced the establishment of a new award this past Monday to recognize the very best Product Support Managers (PSM) in the Department of Defense. In a March 18, 2013 memo entitled "First Annual Secretary of Defense Product Support Manager Award",  the undersecretary lauded the Product Support Manager (PSM) as “critical to delivering weapon system readiness affordably and effectively” and so “in recognition of PSM accomplishments and contributions toward achieving the goals outlined in Better Buying Power 2.0, the Department is proud to institute the Secretary of Defense Product Support Manager of the Year Annual Awards Program.” Nomination submissions for this new "Secretary of Defense Product Support Manager Award" are due April 16, 2013.


According to the memo, “this highly prestigious award is in direct support of the Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology, and Logistics goal of enhancing the Defense Acquisition Workforce (DAW) with relevant and realistic incentives, increased capabilities, and recognition of the PSM as an important partner in providing the very best systems for our Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen, and Marines. It furthers the DAW vision of "creating a high quality, high-performing, agile DAW to achieve technological superiority and protect America's National Security."  Through the PSM Awards, the Department will recognize PSM contributions to controlling cost growth, addressing long-term affordability, and promoting industry competition and innovation, as well as outstanding achievements in the development, implementation, and/or execution of affordable and effective weapon system product support strategies.” The awards will honor outstanding PSMs in two categories: Major Defense Acquisition Programs, Acquisition Categories (ACATs) ID or IC; and Major Weapon System/Other Weapon Systems, ACAT II and below PSMs. The winners in each category will receive trophies at the annual PSM Conference” (date to be announced).


Details on submission requirements, including award criteria and other nomination details are contained in the memo. IMPORTANT NOTE: to clarify the statement in the “Detailed Instructions” section of the attachment that reads “each Service or Agency may submit one nomination", the OSD staff has advised that this means "each Service or Agency may submit one nomination per category."


Given the relatively short time period until nominations are due, would encourage you to be thinking about submissions now, and to forward this information as appropriate in order to recognize the great work that these dedicated public servants are doing on behalf of our nation and our warfighter customers every day.