U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Four Key Elements of the Financial Gray Zone

The financial gray zone comprises four key elements: endemic corruption, illicit financing and money laundering, acquisition of strategic assets and theft of state secrets, and sanctions evasion and decoupling. These elements are used by adversaries, such as Russia and China, to undermine the rule of law, influence important figures, exploit financial systems, and evade sanctions. Adversaries employ sophisticated tactics, including the use of cryptocurrencies, to challenge the dominance of the U.S. financial system and diminish its power of financial coercion.

DAU Sponsored
Four Key Elements of the Financial Gray Zone
Document Type