U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.



  1. Home
  2. Glossary
  3. ACAT I

Programs that are Major Defense Acquisition Programs. A Major Defense Acquisition Program is a program that is not a highly sensitive classified program and that is designated by the USD(A&S) as a Major Defense Acquisition Program; or that is estimated to require eventual expenditure for research, development, test, and evaluation, including all planned increments, of more than $525 million (FY 2020 constant dollars) or procurement, including all planned increments, of more than $3.065 billion (FY 2020 constant dollars). ACAT I programs have three sub-categories: • ACAT 1B for which the MDA is the SAE. • ACAT ID for which the MDA is the DAE, unless delegated. The “D” refers to the Defense Acquisition Board, which advises the USD(A&S) at major decision points. • ACAT IC for which the MDA is the DoD Component head or, if delegated, the DoD component acquisition executive.