Sign In

Milestone Document Identification Tool (MDID)

Updated 8/12/2021

Launch Tool
Milestone Document Identification Tool (MDID)
4.4 stars out of 5 based on 9 user ratings.

The Milestone Document Identification Tool was designed to support Major Capabilities Acquisition (MCA) under the former Defense Acquisition System (DAS) construct. With the emergence of the Adaptive Acquisition Framework (AAF), the tool was redeveloped to support identification of requirements across all six pathways: Urgent, Middle Tier, Major Capabilities, Software, Defense Business Systems and Services.

Renamed the "Adaptive Acquisition Framework Document Identifcation (AAFDID) Tool" or "AAFDID", the updated tool is intended to replace the MDID. The requirements previously identified in the MDID can now be found in the AAFDID under "Major Capabilities Acquisition" and will follow the policy specified in Appendix 3B of DoDI 5000.85.

A summary of requirements represented in the AAFDID are as follows:

  1. Information Requirements Unique to All Six Pathways (Urgent, Middle Tier, Major Capabilities, Software, Defense Business Systems and Services)
  2. Acquisition Program Baselines (APB)
  3. Statutory program breach definitions
  4. Recurring program reports
  5. Exceptions, waivers, and alternative management and reporting requirements
  6. Cost and software data reporting (CSDR)
  7. Earned value management system (EVMS) application requirements
  8. EVMS reporting requirements
  9. Actions associated with Clinger Cohen Act compliance

The updated tool and content is accesible from the "launch" button located on this page; it can also be accessed via the DAU tools catalog under "Adaptive Acquisition Framework Document Identifcation (AAFDID) Tool".

Chat with DAU Assistant
Bot Image